08
Aug
08

Fixing a broken Lightroom catalog

Every time I think I see the end of the current race at work, a new skeleton drops out of the closet. Hopefully it will end soon, but this means heavy prioritizing on my home computer time. Blogging has been too far down the list. Instead I have amused myself with a trial version of LightRoom 2. I have used version 1 since it came (or more correctly, since the beta), and this upgrade looks like it is worth it. I really like the brush and gradient tool. I have even bought the Luminous Landscape tutorial, and it was actually quite good. Quite a few hints and tips, and it was entertaining enough to watch the whole 7.5 hours.

Anyway, what I wanted to write here is a little hint that may be useful for others out there.

Just an hour ago, I managed to break my Lightroom catalog. I had started a task that took up too many resources, and I tried to abort with the consequence that Lightroom became unresponsive. Probably it would have passed, but I’m not ery patient with stalling software, so I killed it. Bad idea.When I tried to restart, I got an error message saying “An error occurred when attempting to change modules.”, and when I clicked OK, I only got a grey window. No library – nothing. I tried to check integrity, but that said everything was ok – still no library. I tried a lot of stuff without much hope, like reinstalling and all that. Nope.I’d hate to go back to my 6 days old backup since I had done a lot of library stuff lately that I didn’t want to trash.

Then I came across the magic spell. I created a new empty catalog, and imported the corrupted one. It worked. I haev got all my metadata, keywords, collections – Everything.

4 Responses to “Fixing a broken Lightroom catalog”


  1. 1 Jason
    May 16, 2009 at 3:07

    You are a GENIUS! Thank you! That worked PERFECTLY.

  2. 2 Kjell
    May 16, 2009 at 9:23

    Glad it did. Broken catalog really sucks.

  3. 3 Charlotte
    September 26, 2009 at 7:13

    Thank you – all other fixes to this problem I came across did not work. Yours did. Saved my day.

  4. 4 Kjell
    September 26, 2009 at 8:16

    You welcome.


Comments are currently closed.

Visit my home page

View the images from my blog

You'll find the gallery here (starting august 2008)

Print Swapping

a

free hit counters

