18
Sep
08

So, how is my old 5D doing

Since a new version of the 5D was just announced, I was a bit curious whether my old camera still held up. After all, according to countless forums around the web, the curse of digital cameras is that you have to buy a new one every year or two.

So this morning I told my camera that it was outdated, and a much cooler model was released. I expected that a full day of pondering over this fact would have reduced my camera into a crappy little mobile phone snap-o-matic, but no. When I took it out tonight, it still did all the tricks it did so well as a young and aspiring camera, not showing its age at all. Could it be that my camera would continue to perform just the same, even if a new model was released. I could hardly believe it.

So I can keep my old camera after all, and still get exactly the same image quality that I got last week.

I just reviewed a calculation I made some time ago on film vs digital (here). For fun, I just made the same calculation for my own little 5D vs what I would have used if I had owned a film camera instead. the cost pr shot is maybe a third to a fourth compared to film, even if I count in only half the shots made on film than what I do on digital. In my previous calculation I assume that I wouldn’t need a computer and software if I owned a film camera, but in fact I would have needed the same computer and software plus a good film scanner and software for that as well. So, compared to film I could just as well have bought a 1DsIII and it would have evened out in little more than a year. Digital photography is truly inexpensive, even if the initial cost is high.

 

Shot hand held with IS, 55mm, ISO3200, 1/2sec. Not tack sharp, but pretty darn good.

5 Responses to “So, how is my old 5D doing”


  1. September 20, 2008 at 0:14

    And of course it’s really about the lenses, longer term. It seems we are pretty much into overkill in terms of pixels and likely also in terms of higher ISO capabilty. Dynamic range is pretty good too on the latest versions of these cameras.

    Longer term the glass is going to have to be better to support those pixels, etc. (or at least it would be nice…).

    Tools get better. I’m the Same Old Photographer however…. (grin)

  2. September 21, 2008 at 16:11

    You’re not the only one Les.
    If I remember right, you were looking to upgrade your camera a couple of months ago. If you havn’t alreade done so, you can get a really bargain at the old 5D now.

  3. September 22, 2008 at 14:23

    Looking at the 5D versus MkII version, there is only a $600CDN price spread…. not enough IMO to purchase the earlier 5D…. I’ll wait for reviews on sensor quality to see how those more tightly packed photosites do.

  4. October 9, 2008 at 21:16

    Shame on you for taunting your camera like that! 🙂 I’m going through those same things with my D300 vs. D700, although the D700 is a full frame model. My D300 just keeps chugging along making those high quality photos.

  5. October 9, 2008 at 21:45

    Oh, I admit it was a bit mean, but we are friends again now


Comments are currently closed.

Visit my home page

View the images from my blog

You'll find the gallery here (starting august 2008)

Print Swapping

a

free hit counters

