18
Sep
08

The Canon 5D mkII

No surprise that Canon announced this camera now since the replacement was long overdue. just a few thoughts on this new camera.

The name: 5D mkII

I think thsi was the right choice for Canon. If they had gone for 6D or 3D or something, they would soon run out of names, and it would be confusing for the customers to place the different models in the lineup. Now everyone knows that the most recent 5D is the model just below the most recent 1D

The sensor:

Everything indicates that they have used the exact same sensor as the 1Ds mkIII, at least if you look at resolution. And why not, Nikon just matched they top model sensor in the D700 so it would be stupid of Canon to not do the same. Now both brands offer top notch IQ in a smaller and more affordable package. Also this is a good thing for Canon as they now have a much larger market for their 21MP sensor, which eventually will drive the price down as the production is ramped up.

Weather sealing:

This is a no brainer these days, even at the mid range models thanks to the competition.

HD Video:

What is this?? Buy yourself a video camera for christ sakes. Again, thanks to competition… ??

Mirror lock up:

Canon still think direct print is more important.

Do I want one: Yes! I just have to rob a bank first.

Will I buy one: No! Not worth going to jail for, and my old 5D still produces excellent pictures.

6 Responses to “The Canon 5D mkII”


  1. September 21, 2008 at 16:16

    I’m considering buying a full frame camera, likely the MkII, later on next year once reviews are done, firmware updated, etc. The MkI (?) 5D is not that much cheaper…

    The question is… what lenses? I already have a 50/1.8, 85/1.8, and 70-200/4 IS and currently use a 17-55/2.8 on a 30D so could use a 24-105/4 and perhaps a wider angle Zeiss lens for landscapes? I would like a small kit of 2-3 lenses I can _carry_!

    Suggestions?

  2. September 21, 2008 at 16:22

    I’m using the 24-105/4 and the 70-200/4 (both IS) 90% of the time. I own a 17-40, a 105mm macro and a 50mm/1.4, but the last three is left home if have to carry for a long time.

  3. September 23, 2008 at 0:40

    I find HD video very interesting, for a school formal shoot this year I was considering bolting a P&S onto my DSLR and taking movie footage of what I shoot then morphing the 2 into a presentation. This camera will do both shoot the video with beautiful shallow dof and take a full 21MP RAW shot inbetween. That makes my equipment list smaller and quality higher.

    I’m considering it.

  4. December 2, 2008 at 13:47

    As a photographer I have little use for video in a DSLR and the prospect of having to have my camera and menus cluttered by extra junk I don’t want (and will have to pay for) does not fill me with happiness. I can’t help thinking of the most useless mobile phones which are so packed full of stuff like GPS, video and cameras that they fail miserably as a phone.

    If you want video buy a video camera!

  5. 5 cp
    December 21, 2008 at 13:09

    And where is this magical video camera with a range of interchangeable lenses that are free if you already have a dslr, razor thin dof, and which costs only as much as a prosumer dslr?

  6. December 21, 2008 at 17:05

    Good point, if you need one, which I don’t feel I do.


Comments are currently closed.

Visit my home page

View the images from my blog

You'll find the gallery here (starting august 2008)

Print Swapping

a

free hit counters

