28
Jan
09

projects and linear thinking

As I was wandering back and forth in my home office/studio just now, thinking, it dawned on me why I don’t like doing photography as projects.

First I want to say that this is something that applies to me, and it is not a universal truth.

Anyway, I find that when I set a well defined goal, and a time frame to do it in, I tend to think very linear. I make a plan to get to the goal, and figures out how to get there. The problem is that this analytical approach is putting my creativity to a full stop. A plan like this usually involves doing things in a certain sequence, and most likely, some boring activity comes first. The thing is that the creativity is usually at its peak when an idea is conceived, so that should not be the time I spend on boring preparations. Also, I have a tendency to stall on a boring task, trying to fool myself into believing that my reward for finishing this task is that I can go out and play ( = take pictures). An last is the feeling that I should not spend my time on photographing other topics when I have committed to a project, which effectively puts a lid on the important task of nurturing the creativity.

On the other hand, if I don’t define a project, I do whatever pleases me, postponing the boring stuff until it is absolutely needed. Suits me much better. I can let my thoughts and inspiration jump around more freely, and focus on what feels naturally for as long as it I like.

Projects to me is like a long trench, where creativity is a scheduled activity some time in the future, often to be reached at a bad day. Not defining projects is like chasing butterflies on an open field.

I prefer the open field.

2 Responses to “projects and linear thinking”


  1. February 8, 2009 at 22:38

    Impressing! I will add your blog to my bloggroll. Have a look at this one:http://bildburen.blogspot.com/
    and add it to yours if you like it.

    regards
    Ingemar Edfalk

  2. 2 Kjell
    February 10, 2009 at 8:22

    Hi Ingemar,
    nice to get some comments from someone closer to home.
    I’ve only had a brief look at your blog so far, but I’ll come back to it for sure. Just give me a day or two.


Comments are currently closed.

Visit my home page

View the images from my blog

You'll find the gallery here (starting august 2008)

Print Swapping

a

free hit counters

