22
Mar
09

Lightroom slowdown

It’s been a while since I last did some Lightroom work now. Since then, version 2.3 has arrived.

This evening I sat down to process some shots I made down by the waterfront today. I did some basic adjustments, and then one single gradient before I decided to tweak the sharpness be bit.

Bad idea!!

It seems like Lightroom is unable to response to the sharpness sliders when there is a gradient in the stack. I haven’t tried it with local editing, but I expect similar behavior. The strange thing is that it doesn’t really consume CPU or RAM while doing this, and if it did, I have loads of both. It looks more like the gradient makes the software prone to napping. It’s just slow for no good reason. I mean, if it slowed down due to the intense calculations needed to process the gradient I could understand. It seems like it’s just some very poor quality programming, like Adobe goofed. It’s not the first time, and it won’t be the last, but I hate it every time.

Just some left behind bananas.

UPDATE:

The picture of the rotten bananas was not meant to be illustrative, it was just a lucky coincident. LightRoom, like bananas, are quite good, but not when it has turned bad.

2 Responses to “Lightroom slowdown”


  1. March 23, 2009 at 10:59

    Haven’t tried 2.3 yet, but get similar problems with 2.2.

    Lightroom appears to have quite a lot of sloppy programming in the local adjustments – memory leaks & slowdown all over the place.

  2. 2 Kjell
    March 24, 2009 at 7:44

    Tha’s too bad, because I really like the gradient and local adjustment. Hope they didn’t fire too many of their LR developers lately. They really do need the manpower to improve this thing.


Comments are currently closed.

Visit my home page

View the images from my blog

You'll find the gallery here (starting august 2008)

Print Swapping

a

free hit counters

